

North Carolina Board of Barber Examiners BARBER SHOP PERMIT APPLICATION

7001 Mail Service Center, Raleigh, North Carolina 27699 Phone (919) 814-0640 • Fax (919) 981-5068 barbers.nc.gov • barberboard@nc.gov

STOP! PLEASE READ BEFORE YOU BEGIN!

- This application is **four pages long**. Please make sure you complete all pages.
- You must file this form at least 15 days before the shop will be ready for inspection.
- Do not leave any fields blank, unless the instructions say that the field is optional or that you can leave it blank. Otherwise, your application may be returned.
- Please be sure to have the form notarized and make sure it's legible.
- Send the completed form to the address above along with your payment.
- Please carefully review the requirements for shops in the board's rules. The rules are available at www.ncbarbers.com under "Resources" and then "Laws," or you can ask for a copy of the rules from the contact information at the top of this page. Shops that don't meet the requirements in rule or statute will not be licensed, and you may lose the inspection fee.

FEES

To open a barber shop, you will need to pay an inspection fee and a permit fee. Please pay by check, cashier check, or money order. Please DO NOT send cash.

- **Inspection fee \$120.** You must include the inspection fee with this application. Your application will not be processed without this fee.
- **Permit fee \$50.** You may also include the permit fee with the application, but you are not required to pay this fee until after you pass inspection. However, you cannot open the shop until you pay the permit fee. If you want to open the shop on the same day that you pass inspection, please include \$170, which includes both fees.

(Continued on the next page.)

SHOP INFORMATION

2. Name of barber shop. Please provide the name of the barber shop.

| 3. | Date the shop will be ready for inspection | | | |
|--|--|--|--|--|
| 4. | Shop physical address. Please indicate the physical location for the shop. | | | |
| Ac | ldress: | | | |
| Ac | ldress: | | | |
| Cit | ty: State: NC ZIP: | | | |
| Сс | ounty: | | | |
| 5. | Shop mailing address. Please indicate the current mailing address for the shop. If the mailing address is the same as the physical address, you may leave these fields blank. | | | |
| Ac | ldress: | | | |
| Address: | | | | |
| Cit | ty: State: NC ZIP: | | | |
| 6. | Other contact information (optional). We encourage you to provide up-to-date telephone, fax, or email information, if available. | | | |
| Ph | none: Fax: | | | |
| En | nail: | | | |
| 7. Physical dimensions. Please indicate the width and length of the shop. | | | | |
| W | idth (feet): Length (feet): | | | |
| 8. | Fixtures and equipment. [] New [] Used [] Both | | | |
| 9. | Number of barber chairs. | | | |
| 10.Business hours . Please indicate the expected business hours for the shop. | | | | |

REGISTERED BARBER MANAGER

| | new manager. The ma barber with a current of another shop or a ba | nager: license from our b | oard. |
|--|---|------------------------------|---------------------|
| Last name: | First nar | First name: | |
| License number: | | | (Optional) |
| Address: | | | |
| Address: | | | |
| City: | State: | ZIP: | |
| Phone (optional): Fax (optional): | | | |
| Email (optional): | | | |
| | SHOP OWNE | R | |
| 12. Is the registered barber | manager also the shop | owner? []Ye | s []No |
| If you answered yes to que "Notarization" section below | | the rest of this se | ction and go to the |
| 13.Shop owner. Please carshop. If this person is the section. | • | • | |
| Last name: | First name | : | (Optional) MI: |
| Address: | | | |
| Address: | | | |
| City: | _ State: | ZIP: | |
| Phone (optional): | I | Fax (optional): | |
| Email (optional): | | | |

MAKE SURE YOU COMPLETE THE ATTESTATION ON THE NEXT PAGE

ATTESTATION

I, ______, the registered barber, declare that I shall have full control of the operation of the barber shop and will be fully responsible for the shop operations, I will comply with all laws regulating barber shops and barbers, and I will notify the Board of Barber Examiners and return the shop permit if I no longer manage the shop.

| STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA | Manager signature: | | | |
|---|--------------------|--|--|--|
| County of | Notary signature: | | | |
| Subscribed and sworn to before me this day of | | | | |
| My commission expires on: | | | | |